2021

12th Annual Uri N. Peled Memorial Lecture


Alain Hertz (GERAD, Montreal, Canada)

"On the average number of colors in the non-equivalent colorings of a graph"

June 7, 2021, 15:30 Israel time (UTC+3), University of Haifa, Israel

On Zoom -- details to be sent to all Registered participants

For zoom link, please send email to Martin Golumbic <golumbic@cs.haifa.ac.il>

with Subject: Peled Memorial Lecture 2021

Abstract: Two colorings of a graph are equivalent if they induce the same partition of the vertex set into stable sets. We are interested in the average number A(G) of colors in the non-equivalent colorings of a graph. We give properties of this new graph invariant and show how it can help derive inequalities for the Bell numbers. We then prove some bounds on A(G) and finish with many open questions.


For zoom link, please send email to Martin Golumbic <golumbic@cs.haifa.ac.il> with Subject: Peled Memorial Lecture 2021



Martin Charles Golumbic, University of Haifa, Israel


Colloquium d’Informatique de Sorbonne Université

Tuesday 8 June 2021 18:00 in Paris; 19:00 in Israel; 12:00 noon in New York

ZOOM link is on the official poster at -- https://www.lip6.fr/colloquium/?guest=Golumbic